GENERAL AGREEMENT ON TARIFFS AND TRADE

RESTRICTED

CPC/47 3 August 1978 Special Distribution

Preferential Arrangements
Among Developing Countries
Negotiated in CATT

COMMITTEE OF PARTICIPATING COUNTRIES

Rules of Procedure

- 1. Chairman and Vice-Chairman The Committee of Participating Countries (hereinafter referred to as the "Committee") established under paragraph 4 of the Protocol Relating to Trade Negotiations Among Developing Countries of 8 December 1971 (hereinafter referred to as the "Protocol") shall elect a Chairman and a Vice-Chairman on a rotation basis from amongst the representatives of the governments of the participating countries. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman shall serve for a period of six months.
- 2. <u>Conduct of Business</u> A simple majority of the representatives of the participating countries shall constitute a quorum.
- Meetings The Committee should normally meet at least once in each calendar quarter. Meetings of the Committee may also be held as required, and may be called by the Chairman or convened on the basis of a request by any participating country upon ten days' advance notice except where special circumstances require otherwise. A draft agenda and relevant documentation shall normally be circulated at least ten days in advance of a meeting. The representatives of developing countries which have signed but not accepted the Protocol may attend the meetings and may participate in the discussions without vote. Representatives of governments of other developing countries may attend the meetings on the invitation of the Committee and may participate without vote in the discussions in accordance with the terms of such invitation.
- 4. <u>Documents</u> Reports and other documents shall be prepared by the secretariat as needed and shall be distributed to members and, as appropriate, to such observers as have been invited to attend meetings of the Committee.
- 5. Amendments These Rules of Procedure or parts thereof may be amended at any time by the Committee.

These Rules of Procedure were adopted by the Committee of Participating Countries on a provisional basis on 8 May 1973 and, with amendment, on a definitive basis on 25 July 1978.