GENERAL AGREEMENT ON

TARIFFS AND TRADE

RESTRICTED L/7101 21 October 1992 Limited Distribution

COMMITTEE ON TRADE IN CIVIL AIRCRAFT

Report to the CONTRACTING PARTIES

1. This report is submitted under Article 8.2 of the Agreement on Trade in Civil Aircraft. It sets out the activities of the Committee since October 1991.

2. As at 8 October 1992 there were twenty-two signatories to the Agreement: Austria, Canada, the EEC, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece (subject to ratification), Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, the United Kingdom, Egypt, Japan, Norway, Romania, Sweden, Switzerland and the United States. The following contracting parties have observer status in the Committee: Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Brazil, Cameroon, Czechoslovakia, Finland, Gabon, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Israel, Malta, Mauritius, Nigeria, Poland, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia and Turkey. In addition, the Russian Federation has observer status in the Committee. The IMF and UNCTAD are also observers.

3. The Committee on Trade in Civil Aircraft held two meetings in the period under review: on 16 July 1992 and 8 October 1992.

4. On 16 July 1992, the Committee decided to open negotiations under Article 8.3 of the Agreement on Trade in Civil Aircraft to improve and broaden the Agreement. It established a Sub-Committee for this purpose, with participation open to any contracting party with an interest in this matter. The Committee also discussed the EC-US bilateral Agreement concerning the Application of the GATT Agreement on Trade in Civil Aircraft. At its 8 October meeting, the Committee agreed to grant observer status in the full Committee to the Russian Federation. It also agreed to open membership in the Sub-Committee to non-contracting parties having observer status in the Committee and to those in a formal process of acceding to the GATT. The Committee also continued its discussion of the EC-US bilateral agreement.

5. As at 8 October 1992 there were 29 members of the Sub-Committee: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Egypt, EEC, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States. The Sub-Committee reports regularly to the members of the Committee. In the period under review, it held one meeting on 8 October 1992, at which it discussed the potential elements and possible content of a new multilateral agreement.

6. The minutes of the Committee's meetings are contained in documents AIR/M/1 to 33 and are available to contracting parties to the GATT. The note on the Sub-Committee's meeting is contained in AIR/69.