GENERAL AGREEMENT ON

TARIFFS AND TRADE

RESTRICTED

L/7122/Add.3 27 April 1993

Limited Distribution

Original: English

GENERALIZED SYSTEM OF PREFERENCE

Notification by Austria

Addendum

In a communication dated 14 April 1993, the delegation of Austria has notified recent changes in the GSP scheme of Austria.

The validity of the GSP scheme of Austria has been extended for another two years (until 31 December 1994).

The following other changes in the scheme are herewith notified:

- With effect from 1 July 1992, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia and the Republic of Lithuania have been included in the list of preference-receiving countries (Group I).
- With effect from 1 January 1993, the Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic have been separately included in the list of preference-receiving countries (Group I). As a consequence of the already applied Free Trade Agreement between these two countries and the EFTA States they will be eliminated from the list of beneficiaries with effect from 1 June 1993.
- With effect from 1 March 1993, the product coverage of HS No. 0904 in the list of agricultural products which are eligible for preferential treatment has been extended by including sweet pepper in immediate packings of a context exceeding 1 kg (HS sub-heading No. 0104 20 A 1 b 2).
- With effect from 1 April 1993, the Republic of Armenia, the Azerbaijani Republic, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Georgia, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Republic of Kyrgyzstan, the Republic of Moldovia, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, the Ukraine and the Republic of Uzbekistan are included in the list of preference-receiving countries (Group I).
- With effect from 1 April 1993, Turkey is eliminated from the list of beneficiaries as a consequence of the already applied Free Trade Agreement between the EFTA States and Turkey.

L/7122/Add.3 Page 2

- With effect from 1 July 1993, Israel will be eliminated from the list of beneficiaries as a consequence of the already applied Free Trade Agreement between the EFTA States and Israel.

The new list of preference-receiving countries under the Austrian scheme as applied from 1 April 1994 is attached for information. It should be noted that the former SFR Yugoslavia, which had ceased to exist, is no more included in this list.

ANNEX C

Beneficiary Countries (States, Territories or Parts of Territories)

GROUP I

Albania Hungary Algeria India Indonesia Angola Anguilla Iran Antigua and Barbuda Iraq Israel² Argentina Armenia Jamaica Jordan Azerbaijan Kazakhstan Bahamas Bahrain Kenya

Barbados Korea, Democratic People's Republic of

Panama

Belarus Korea, Republic of

Belize Kuwait Bolivia Kyrgyzstan Bosnia and Herzegovina Latvia Brazil Lebanon Brunei Libva Lithuania Bulgaria Macedonia Cameroon Chile Malaysia Malta China

Colombia Marshall Islands

Congo Mauritius Costa Rica Mexico Côte d'Ivoire Micronesia Croatia Moldova Mongolia Cuba Cyprus Morocco Czech Republic 1 Namibia Dominica Nauru Dominican Republic Nicaragua Ecuador Nigeria Egypt 0man El Salvador Pakistan

Fiji Papua New Guinea

Gabon Paraguay
Georgia Peru
Ghana Philippin

Estonia

Ghana Philippines
Grenada Poland
Guatemala Qatar
Guyana Romania

Honduras Russian Federation

Deletion with effect from 1 June 1993

²Deletion with effect from 1 July 1993

L/7122/Add.3 Page 4

Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Saudi Arabia Senegal Seychelles Singapore Slovak Republic³ Slovenia Sri Lanka Suriname Swaziland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Thailand Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkmenistan Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruguay Uzbekistan Venezuela Viet Nam

Occupied Palestinian Territories

Zimbabwe

Dependent Territories of the Republic of France: French Polynesia Mayotte New Caledonia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Wallis and Futuna

Dependent Territories of New Zealand: Cook Islands Niue Tokelau Islands

Dependent Territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands: Aruba Netherland Antilles Dependent Territories of Portugal: Macao

Dependent Territories of the United
Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern
Ireland:
Bermuda
British Indian Ocean Territory
Cayman Islands
Falkland Islands (Malvinas) and
Dependencies
Gibraltar
Hong Kong
Montserrat
Pitcairn
Saint Helena and Dependencies
Turks and Caicos Islands
Virgin Islands (British)

Dependent Territories of the United States of America: American Samoa Guam Midway, Swains and Wake Islands, Johnston and Sand Islands Palau Virgin Islands (USA)

Deletion with effect from 1 June 1993

⁴In the cases of imports of goods falling into Chapters 50 to 64 of the Customs Tariff, originating in Hong Kong, the preferential tariff rates shall not apply

GROUP II

(Least Developed Countries)

Afghanistan Bangladesh Benin Bhutan Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cape Verde Republic

Central African Republic

Chad Comoros Djibouti

Equatorial Guinea

Ethiopia Gambia Guinea

Guinea-Bissau

Haiti Kiribati Laos Lesotho Liberia Madagascar Malawi Maldives

Mali

Mauritania Mozambique Nepal Niger Rwanda Samoa

Sao Tomé and Principe

Sierra Leone Solomon Islands

Somalia Sudan Tanzania Togo Tuvalu Uganda

Union of Myanmar

Vanuatu Yemen Zaire Zambia