22 September 2003

26th WTO Trade Policy Course begins

Government officials from 23 countries attended on Monday 22 September the opening session of the 26th WTO Trade Policy Course (TPC). The brief ceremony was chaired by Mr. Paul Rolian, Director of the Institute for Training and Technical Cooperation (ITTC), who warmly welcomed all the participants.

The participants will have the unique occasion to follow, from the inside, the functioning of the WTO. In addition, they will have the opportunity to witness how the Organization starts working on the decisions adopted at the 5th session of the Ministerial Conference held in Cancún, Mexico in September 2003, and how the WTO carries forward the various mandates adopted by Ministers in Doha, Qatar, in November 2001.

Throughout the three-month training, which will end on 12 December, the 24 participating officials will become acquainted, through lectures, debates, attendance at WTO meetings, visits to other organizations and simulation exercises, with virtually all the issues dealt with in the framework of the WTO, as well as with trade-related aspects of the work conducted by other international organisations located in Geneva. Mr. Rolian invited the participants to actively take part in the forthcoming training and to develop and strengthen a solid network of contact by attending meetings and discussing with delegates and WTO experts.

The 24 Spanish-speaking participants come from developing and least-developed countries (18 from Latin America and the Caribbean, 4 from Africa, 1 from Middle East, 1 from Central and Eastern Europe). Five officials come from least-developed countries. All sessions of the course will be held in Spanish.

The 26th TPC is the fourth such course organized this year at the WTO Headquarters. Several specialized courses will complement the training activities conducted by the ITTC in Geneva during the last trimester of 2003.


List of participants back to top

Angola Sr. João Luís ARMANDO
Argentina Srta. Maité FERNÁNDEZ GARCÍA
Bolivia Sr. Windsor HERNANI LIMARINO
Chile Srta. Lexy OROZCO SALAS
Ecuador Sr. Cristian Wladimir MANCHENO EGAS
Guatemala Srta. Ingrid BARILLAS GONZÁLES
Guinea - Bissau Sr. Wilson Manuel FERNANDES DIAS
Guinea Ecuatorial Sr. Ambrosio Ndong MASIE KIEBIYENE
Haití Sr. Joseph Sauveur REGISTE
Honduras Srta. Nolvia Aracely LANDA ORELLANA
Irán Sr. Medí FAKHERI
Mozambique Sr. Ventura Mulatinho DOMINGOS
Nicaragua Sr. Alberto José MORALES LÓPEZ
Panamá Srta. Gissette Querube MUÑOZ GIROLDI
Paraguay Sr. José Aníbal CUEVAS SÁNCHEZ
Perú Sra. Sara Rosana ROSADIO COLAN
República Dominicana Srta. Elisa Lucia FRÍAS MEJÍA
Serbia y Montenegro Srta. Mirjana JELIĆ
Suriname Sr. Ike Desmond ANTONIUS
UNCTAD Sr. Bruno Marcello MASIER
Uruguay Sra. María Elizabeth BOGOSIAN ALVAREZ
Venezuela Sr. José Luis ACEVEDO RODRÍGUEZ