16 December 2003

Professor Merit Janow sworn in as new Appellate Body Member

In a ceremony presided over by Ambassador Shotaro Oshima, Chair of the Dispute Settlement Body, Professor Merit Janow of the United States was sworn in as a Member of the Appellate Body at the WTO yesterday. Mr Georges Michel Abi-Saab, recently elected Chair of the Appellate Body by the Appellate Body Members, administered the declaration undertaken by Professor Janow.

Professor Janow, a member of the faculty at Columbia Law School and the Columbia School of International and Public Affairs, was appointed by the Dispute Settlement Body in November of this year to replace retiring Appellate Body Member Mr. James Bacchus, also of the United States. One of the original seven Members of the Appellate Body when it was established in 1995, Mr. Bacchus served two four-year terms, the last two years as its Chair. He leaves the Appellate Body to join the faculty of Vanderbilt University Law School and to return to his private law practice.

> Biographical Note on Professor Merit Janow
> Biographical Note on Mr. James Bacchus