10 February 2003

WTO chairpersons for 2003

The WTO General Council today (10 February) noted the consensus on the following slate of names of chairpersons for WTO bodies:

Regular bodies (for 2003)

  • General Council: H.E. Mr. Carlos Pérez Del Castillo (Uruguay)
  • Dispute Settlement Body: H.E. Mr. Shotaro Oshima (Japan)
  • Trade Policy Review Body: H.E. Ms. Mary Whelan (Ireland)
  • Council for Trade in Goods: H.E. Mr. Milan Hovorka (Czech Republic)
  • Council for Trade in Services: H.E. Mr. Ousmane Camara (Senegal)
  • Council for TRIPS: H.E. Mr. Vanu Gopala Menon (Singapore)
  • Committee on Trade and Environment: H.E. Mr. Peter Brňo (Slovak Republic)
  • Committee on Trade and Development: H.E. Mr. Mohamed Saleck Ould Mohamed Lemine (Mauritania)
  • Committee on Balance-of-Payments Restrictions: H.E. Dr. Manzoor Ahmad (Pakistan)
  • Committee on Regional Trade Agreements: H.E. Mr. Jaynarain Meetoo (Mauritius)
  • Committee on Budget, Finance and Administration: Mr. Joshua C.K. Law (Hong Kong,China)
  • Working Group on the Relationship between Trade and Investment: H.E.Mr. Luiz Felipe De Seixas Corrêa (Brazil)
  • Working Group on the Interaction between Trade and Competition Policy: Prof. Frédéric Jenny (France)
  • Working Group on Transparency in Government Procurement: H.E. Mr. Ronald Saborío Soto (Costa Rica)
  • Working Group on Trade and Transfer of Technology: H.E. Mr. Stefán Haukur Jóhanesson (Iceland)
  • Working Group on Trade, Debt and Finance: H.E. Mr. Hernando José Gómez (Colombia)