WTO news: what’s been happening in the WTO


12 February 1997

1997 Chairpersons of the WTO goods council's subsidiary bodies

The WTO Council for Trade in Goods, on 12 February, appointed the following chairpersons for 1997:

Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures: Mr. Alex Thiermann (United States)

Working Party on State Trading Enterprises: Ms. Vibeke Roosen (Denmark)

Working Party on Preshipment Inspection: Mr. Chiedu Osakwe (Nigeria)

The Goods Council took note of the consensus on the appointment of the following chairpersons for 1997, who will be elected by the respective subsidiary bodies:

Committee on Agriculture: H.E. Mr. Nestor Osorio Londo˝o (Colombia)

Committee on Anti-Dumping Practices: Mr. Kajit Sukhum (Thailand)

Committee on Customs Valuation: Mr. Tullio Di Pietro (Italy)

Committee on Import Licensing: Mr. Tomasz Jodko (Poland)

Committee on Market Access: Mr. Moha Ouali Tagma (Morocco)

Committee on Rules of Origin: Mrs. Lourdes A. Berrig (Philippines)

Committee on Safeguards:  Mr. Seiichi Nagatsuka (Japan)

Committee on Subsidies and  Countervailing Measures: Mr. Gilles Gauthier (Canada)

Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade: Mr. Timothy H.M. Tong
(Hong Kong)

Committee on Trade-Related Investment Measures: Mr. Javier Paulinich (Peru)