Environmental Goods Agreement (EGA)

Eighteen participants representing 46 WTO members are engaged in negotiations seeking to eliminate tariffs on a number of important environment-related products. These include products that can help achieve environmental and climate protection goals, such as generating clean and renewable energy, improving energy and resource efficiency, controlling air pollution, managing waste, treating waste water, monitoring the quality of the environment, and combatting noise pollution. The participants to these negotiations account for the majority of global trade in environmental goods. The benefits of this new agreement will be extended to the entire WTO membership, meaning all WTO members will enjoy improved conditions in the markets of the participants to the EGA.

See also:
Trade and environment




back to top




On 8 July 2014, a group of WTO members launched plurilateral negotiations for the establishment of the EGA, which seeks to promote trade in a number of key environmental products, such as wind turbines and solar panels. Since then, the number of participants has grown, with the current total representing 46 WTO members.


  1. Australia
  2. Canada
  3. China
  4. Costa Rica
  5. European Union
  6. Hong Kong, China
  7. Iceland
  8. Israel
  9. Japan
  10. Korea
  11. New Zealand
  12. Norway
  13. Singapore
  14. Switzerland
  15. Liechtenstein
  16. Chinese Taipei
  17. Turkey
  18. United States

Map of participants









> 18th round of EGA negotiations (27 November- 1 December 2016, Geneva)

> Concluding Ministerial Meeting (3-4 December 2016, Geneva)