Atelier sur les femmes et le commerce numérique

Organisé par l'Union européenne et la Trinité-et-Tobago

10:00 – 10:30

Opening session – setting the scene

Welcome words by the hosts and introduction to the speakers, followed by opening keynote interventions by high level representatives


  • Roberto Azevêdo, Director General, WTO
  • Mukhisa Kituyi, Secretary General, UNCTAD
  • Arancha González, Executive Director, International Trade Centre

10h30 – 15h00 (with lunchbreak)

Session 1: The Big Picture for women in digital trade: current status and trends, opportunities, challenges and key issues

10h30 - 12h00

Session 1 Panel 1 - moderator: Ambassador Makeda Antoine-Cambridge, Trinidad & Tobago


  • Javier Lopez-Gonzalez, Senior Trade Policy Analyst, OECD
  • Michael Ferratino, Lead Economist, Global Product Specialist, Trade Policy and Integration, World Bank Group
  • Ankai Xu, Research Economist, WTO
  • ITU (speaker, tbc)

12h00 – 14h00

Lunch break

14h00 – 15h00

Session 1 Panel 2 - moderator: Madelaine Tuininga, Head of Unit, DG TRADE, European Commission


  • Mark Wu, Henry L. Stimson Professor of Law, Harvard
  • Candace Nkoth Bisseck, eTrade for Women Project Manager, UNCTAD
  • Frances Lisson, Ambassador to the WTO, Australia
  • Oonagh Fitzgerald, Center for International Governance Innovation

15h00 – 17h00

Session 2: Women in digital trade from the practitioners perspective: real life stories, good practices; about challenges and overcoming them.

15h00 – 16h00

Session 2 - Panel 1 - moderator: Kimberley Botwright, World Economic Forum (WEF)

Speakers (speaking order to be confirmed) :

  • Annika Lucien, Head of Business for Northern Europe, Evaneos
  • Suzette Hudson, Senior Advisor, Investment Promotion, Caribbean Export Development Agency
  • Nafy Diagne, Fondatrice AWALEBIZ
  • James Howe, Senior Advisor, International Trade Centre

16h00 - 17h00

Session 2 - Panel 2 - moderator: Ambassador Stephen de Boer, Canada

Speakers (speaking order to be confirmed):

  • Nina Angelovska, Grouper.mk
  • Olivier Prothmann,President, Bundesverband Onlinehandel e.V.
  • Evelyn Namara, Founder & GEOVouch Digital
  • Esther Eghobamien-Mshelia/Ms Foye Omole, KOWGO project

17h00 – 17h30

Closing session: key take-aways: Closing remarks by the moderators

17h30 – 19h00

Networking reception, Gallery, WTO