THIS NEWS STORY is designed to help the public understand developments in the WTO. While every effort has been made to ensure the contents are accurate, it does not prejudice member governments’ positions.



The 30-day countdown to Liberia’s WTO membership was activated when Mr Axel Addy, Liberia’s Minister for Commerce and Industry, deposited the instrument of acceptance of the country’s Protocol of Accession with Mr Timothy Yeend, Chief of Cabinet, who received it on behalf of Director-General Roberto Azevêdo. The country’s Protocol of Accession was ratified by Liberia’s Parliament on 14 June.

Liberia applied for WTO membership in 2007 and members of the Working Party concluded the negotiations on 6 October 2015. Liberia’s commitments are available here.

WTO members officially approved Liberia’s accession during a special ceremony at the Nairobi Ministerial Conference on 16 December 2015. Liberia’s President, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, co-signed the Protocol of Accession with DG Azevêdo.

Liberia is the 35th government and the eighth least-developed country (LDC) to accede to the WTO through negotiations since the WTO was established in 1995. LDCs represent a fifth of the WTO membership.

Learn more about Liberia’s WTO accession negotiations here.  

Galerie de photos


RSS news feeds

> Problems viewing this page?
Please contact [email protected] giving details of the operating system and web browser you are using.