The Committee reviewed new notifications of legislation submitted by Brazil, Canada, Djibouti and the United Kingdom. It continued its review of the legislative notifications of Cameroon, India, the European Union, Ghana, Liberia, and Saint Kitts and Nevis.

As is the usual practice in the Committee, delegations raised questions about the practices of other members in reviewing their semi-annual notifications on anti-dumping actions, which cover the initiation of investigations, the imposition of provisional and final anti-dumping measures, and the review of existing anti-dumping measures.

With respect to the semi-annual reports covering the period 1 January - 30 June 2022, 45 members notified the Committee of anti-dumping actions taken in this period, 16 reported no new anti-dumping actions in this period, while 53 members made a one-time notification indicating they do not have an investigating authority or apply any anti-dumping measures.

The Chair of the Committee, Mr Juan Carlos Estrella of Ecuador, urged members that had not submitted reports of actions to do so promptly. The Chair welcomed members' extensive use of the new anti-dumping portal to submit their semi-annual reports and informed members of the WTO Secretariat's same-day presentation on the WTO's new Trade Remedies Data Portal. 

Questions were raised by several delegations regarding actions contained in the semi-annual reports of Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Egypt, the European Union, India, Israel, the Republic of Korea, Morocco, South Africa, the United Kingdom, the United States and Viet Nam.

With respect to the semi-annual report submitted by Ukraine, Ukraine referred to the inability of its domestic producers to participate in investigations as they are situated in the areas occupied by the Russian Federation and are under attack by Russia. Seven members took the floor to commend Ukraine's efforts to notify, and condemned Russia's actions in Ukraine. The Russian Federation contested Ukraine's explanations and the other members' statements, which it considered to be outside the WTO's mandate.

In addition to the semi-annual reports, the WTO's Anti-Dumping Agreement requires members to submit without delay — on an ad hoc basis — notifications of all preliminary and final anti-dumping actions taken. Ad hoc notifications reviewed during the meeting were received from Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, the European Union, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, the Republic of Korea, the Kyrgyz Republic, Mexico, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Russian Federation, South Africa, Chinese Taipei, Türkiye, the United Kingdom, the United States, Uruguay and Viet Nam. In this connection, questions were raised regarding a notification submitted by South Africa.

Next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee is scheduled to take place in the week of 1 May 2023.




Problems viewing this page? If so, please contact [email protected] giving details of the operating system and web browser you are using.