WTO news: what’s been happening in the WTO

30 November 2001

18th WTO Trade policy course ends

Government officials from 30 countries and customs territories attended the closing session of the 18th WTO Trade policy course. The ceremony, during which the participants were presented with a Diploma testifying that they had successfully completed the three-month training programme, was chaired by Mr. Paul-Henri Ravier, Deputy Director-General of the WTO. On behalf of Mike Moore, he congratulated all the participants for their achievement.

Referring to the Ministerial Conference recently concluded in Doha — Qatar, Mr. Ravier underlined that the 30 trade officials had had the unique opportunity to be trained at the WTO Headquarters at a critical moment of the Organization's life. They had witnessed the intense preparation leading to the adoption of the Doha Development Agenda: an experience that would undoubtedly strengthen the participants' understanding of the functioning of the multilateral trading system.

Mr. Ravier stressed that the course which had just concluded constituted only one element of the strategy consisting of a series of training activities conducted by the WTO Secretariat, both in Geneva and in the field. This strategy was gathering speed indicated the Deputy Director-General.

On behalf of the thirty participants to the course, Mr. Heinz Kubau Vaekesa, from the Solomon Islands, thanked the WTO Secretariat and the WTO Training Institute for hosting this important event. He confirmed that what the participants gained during the course would be put into practice upon return to their respective countries.

The list of participants of the 18th Trade Policy Course is annexed.

List of participants
back to top


Miss Nargiz GURBANOVA, Attaché, Department of Economic Cooperation and Development, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Baku.


Miss Julie Ann Georgina MAPP, Economist II, Division of Foreign Trade, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, St. Michael.


Miss Kelebogile Maureen LEKAUKAU, Commercial Officer I, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Ministry of Trade, Industry, Wildlife and Tourism, Gaborone.


Mr. Gang LIU, Trade Official, Department of International Trade and Economic Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation, Beijing


Mr. Attoumane DAOUD, Chief, Division of the U.N. Specialized Institutions, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Comoros.



Mrs. Nada MINCIC, Counsellor, Foreign Economic Relations Division, Trade Policy Department, Ministry of Economy, Zagreb.



Mr. Christakis D. PAPAGEORGIOU, Planning Officer, Planning Bureau, Directorate for Macroeconomic Policy, Research and Studies, Nicosia.


Mr. Homero LARREA MONARD, Assistant to the Director General, Chancellor II, Directorate General for International Economic Negotiations, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Quito.



Miss Yok Yee Yolinda CHAN, Acting Senior Economic Planning Officer, WTO Unit, Trade and Economic Section, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and External Trade, Suva.

Hong Kong, China

Ms. Soo Wai Irene TANG, Trade Officer, Textiles Controls Branch (Europe), Trade and Industry Department, Kowloon.



Mr. Hasan ALOBAIDLI, Administrative Researcher, Commercial Organizations Department, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Kuwait.

Kyrgyz Republic


Mr. Azizbek Toutogulovich SABITOV, Chief Specialist, Department of External Economic Relations, Trade and WTO Issues, Ministry of External Trade and Industry, Bishkek City.

Macau, China


Mr. Kuan Hou LEI, Economist, Research and Statistics Department, Monetary Authority of Macau, Macau.



Mr. Januario SUMBANE, Third Secretary, Directorate of Multilateral and Economic Relations, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Maputo.



Mrs. Ni Ni KHIN, Assistant Director, International Trade Promotion Department, Directorate of Trade, Ministry of Commerce, Yangon.



Mr. Alfred NDABENI, Chief, Trade Promotion Officer, International Trade Department, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Windhoek.



Mr. Damodar REGMI, Section Officer, WTO Division, Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supplies, Kathmandu.



Mr. Akram Hassan AL-MARAZZA, Director General, Directorate General of Commerce and Industry, Dhofar Governorate, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Salalah.


Miss Cristina Elena THAYER, Chief, Section of Multilateral Trade Negotiations Affairs, Department of Legal Affairs, Vice-Ministry of Foreign Trade, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Panama.

Papua New Guinea


Mrs. Bridgette Alfred TUITALELE-KAMISH, Principal Trade Officer, Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Branch, Trade Division, Department of Trade and Industry, Waigani NCD.

Sierra Leone


Mr. Barba Brima FORTUNE, Senior Assistant Secretary, Trade Division, Ministry of Trade, Industry and State Enterprises, Freetown.

Solomon Islands


Mr. Heinz Kubau VAEKESA, Director of Trade, Trade Division, Ministry of Commerce, Employment and Trade, Honiara.

South Africa


Miss Mpho LESEKA, Assistant Director, European Union Desk, Trade Negotiations Sub-Division, Department of Trade and Industry, Pretoria.



Mr. Mohammed IBRAHIM, Director, Department of Commodities, Secretariat General for WTO, Ministry of Foreign Trade, Khartoum.

Syrian Arab Republic


Mr. Kosay MOUSTAFA, Desk Officer, Department of International Organizations and Conferences, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Damascus-Muhajereen-shora.

Chinese Taipei


Mr. Wen-cheng Martin KE, Staff Member, The Third WTO Department, Board of Foreign Trade, Ministry of Economic Affairs, Taipei.


Miss Aumaporn SUTTIWONG, Trade Official, Bureau of Multilateral Trade Negotiations, Department of Business Economics, Ministry of Commerce, Bangkok.

Trinidad and Tobago


Miss Myrna Theresa HUGGINS, Foreign Service Officer II, International Organisations Division, Foreign Affairs Section, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Port of Spain.



Mr. Takhir Kemalovich ATAKHANOV, Senior Expert, Department of the Analysis and Regulation of the Foreign Trade, Ministry of Trade and Foreign Economic Relations, Ashkhabad.



Mr. Erkinjon Yakubjanovich YUNUSOV, Leading Specialist, Law Department, Ministry of Foreign Economic Relations, Tashkent.