WTO news: what’s been happening in the WTO


19 February 1998

WTO chairpersons for 1998

The WTO General Council today (19 February) noted the concensus on the following slate of names of chairpersons for WTO bodies:

General Council: Amb. John Weekes (Canada)

Dispute Settlement Body: Amb. Kamel Morjane (Tunisia)

Trade Policy Review Body: Amb. Ali Said Mchumo (Tanzania)

Council for Trade in Goods: Amb. Ronald Saborio Soto (Costa Rica)

Council for Trade-Related Aspects of

Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPs): Amb. Istvan Major (Hungary)

Council for Trade in Services: Amb. Nobutoshi Akao (Japan)

Committee on Trade and Environment: Amb. Chak Mun See (Singapore)

Committee on Trade and Development: Amb. Iftekhar Ahmed Chowdhury (Bangladesh)

Committee on Budget, Finance and

Administration: Mr. Wilhelm Meier (Switzerland)

Committee on Balance-of-Payments

Restrictions: Mr. Peter R. Jenkins (United Kingdom)

Committee on Regional Trading

Agreements: Amb. Jean-Marie Noirfalisse (Belgium)

Working Group on the Relationship

between Trade and Investment: Amb. Krirk-Krai Jirapaet (Thailand)

Working Group on the Interaction

between Trade and Competition Policy: Prof. Frédéric Jenny (France)

Working Group on Transparency in

Government Procurement: Amb. Werner Corrales Leal (Venezuela)