WTO 10th Anniversary

WTO: The story in photos

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the creation of the World Trade Organization on January 1, 1995 as part of the entry into force of the agreements concluded under the Uruguay Round of trade negotiations, signed by ministers at Marrakesh on 15 April 1994. 

Click on any photo to see a larger version.

150pxls.gif (76 bytes)

December 1993 — Peter Sutherland, Chairman of the Trade Negotiations Committee, closes the Uruguay Round Negotiations.

April 1994 — US Trade Representative Mickey Kantor signs the Final Act of the Uruguay Round at Marrakesh.

April 1994 — Supachai Panitchpakdi, Deputy Prime Minister of Thailand, signs the Final Act at Marrakesh.

May 1995 — Peter Sutherland congratulates Renato Ruggiero, his successor as Director-General of the WTO.

December 1996 — Director-General Renato Ruggiero addressing the First Ministerial Conference in Singapore.

December 1996 — First Ministerial Conference, Singapore.

January 1997 — Director-General Renato Ruggiero introduces the new WTO logo.

May 1998 — World leaders gather at the Second Ministerial Conference, Geneva, for the 50th anniversary of the GATT-WTO trading system.

May 1998 — Nelson Mandela, South African President, at the Second Ministerial Conference, Geneva.

May 1998 — US President Bill Clinton at the Second Ministerial Conference, Geneva.

November 1999 —Director-General Mike Moore at the Third Ministerial Conference, Seattle.

November 1999 — Third Ministerial Conference, Seattle — anti-WTO demonstration.

November 2001 — Minister Youssef Hussain Kamal of Qatar at the Fourth Ministerial Conference, Doha.

November 2001 — China became the 143rd member of the WTO at the Fourth Ministerial Conference, Doha.

November 2001 — Chinese Taipei became the 144th member of the WTO at the Fourth Ministerial Conference, Doha.

September 2002 — Outgoing Director-General Mike Moore welcomes Supachai Panitchpakdi as the new Director-General.

September 2003 — Vicente Fox, President of Mexico, at the Fifth Ministerial, Cancún.


  10th Anniversary Events
> Conferences commemorating the WTO Dispute Settlement System
> WTO Public Symposium


1995 Creation of the WTO
1996 Singapore Ministerial
1998 Geneva Ministerial
1999 Seattle Ministerial
2001 Doha Ministerial
2003 Cancún Ministerial
2005 Hong Kong Ministerial