Procedures for notifying and sharing information: contact points

The TRIPS Agreement says WTO members must set up contact points on intellectual property and notify these to the TRIPS Council — in other words the WTO’s membership. This allows member governments to contact each other on issues such as trade in counterfeit or pirated goods.

back to top

Notifications under Article 69  

TRIPS Article 69 says members agree to cooperate with each other to eliminate international trade in goods that infringe intellectual property rights.

In order to achieve this member governments have agreed to set up contact points, to announce these to other members through the WTO, and to share information. Members have also agreed to encourage their customs authorities to cooperate and share information with each other, particularly on counterfeits, which infringe trademarks, and pirated products, which violate copyright.

back to top

The contact points  

Albania contact point
Angola contact point
Antigua and Barbuda contact point not notified
Argentina contact point
Armenia contact point
Australia contact point
Austria contact point
Bahrain, Kingdom of contact point
Bangladesh contact point
Barbados contact point
Belgium contact point
Belize contact point
Benin contact point
Bolivia, Plurinational State of contact point
Botswana contact point
Brazil contact point
Brunei Darussalam contact point
Bulgaria contact point
Burkina Faso contact point
Burundi contact point
Cambodia contact point
Cameroon contact point not notified
Canada contact point
Cape Verde contact point
Central African Republic contact point not notified
Chad contact point
Chile contact point
China contact point
Colombia contact point
Congo contact point
Costa Rica contact point
Côte d'Ivoire contact point not notified
Croatia contact point
Cuba contact point
Cyprus contact point
Czech Republic contact point
Democratic Republic of the Congo contact point not notified
Denmark contact point
Djibouti contact point not notified
Dominica contact point
Dominican Republic contact point
Ecuador contact point
Egypt contact point
El Salvador contact point
Estonia contact point
European Union (formerly European Communities) contact point
Fiji contact point
Finland contact point
France contact point
Gabon contact point
The Gambia contact point not notified
Georgia contact point
Germany contact point
Ghana contact point
Greece contact point
Grenada contact point
Guatemala contact point
Guinea contact point
Guinea Bissau contact point not notified
Guyana contact point
Haiti contact point
Honduras contact point
Hong Kong, China contact point
Hungary contact point
Iceland contact point
India contact point
Indonesia contact point
Ireland contact point
Israel contact point
Italy contact point
Jamaica contact point
Japan contact point
Jordan contact point
Kenya contact point
Kazakhstan contact point
Korea, Republic of contact point
Kuwait contact point
Kyrgyz Republic contact point
Latvia contact point
Lao People’s Democratic Republic contact point
Lesotho contact point
Liberia contact point
Liechtenstein contact point
Lithuania contact point
Luxembourg contact point
Macao, China contact point
Madagascar contact point
Malawi contact point
Malaysia contact point
Maldives contact point
Mali contact point
Malta contact point
Mauritania contact point not notified
Mauritius contact point
Mexico contact point
Moldova contact point
Mongolia contact point
Montenegro contact point
Morocco contact point
Mozambique contact point
Myanmar contact point
Namibia contact point
Nepal contact point
Netherlands contact point
New Zealand contact point
Nicaragua contact point
Niger contact point not notified
Nigeria contact point
Norway contact point
Oman contact point
Pakistan contact point
Panama contact point
Papua New Guinea contact point not notified
Paraguay contact point
Peru contact point
Philippines contact point
Poland contact point
Portugal contact point
Qatar contact point
Romania contact point
Russian Federation contact point
Rwanda contact point not notified
Saint Kitts and Nevis contact point
Saint Lucia contact point
Saint Vincent & the Grenadines contact point
Samoa contact point not notified
Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of contact point
Senegal contact point
Seychelles contact point
Sierra Leone contact point not notified
Singapore contact point
Slovak Republic contact point
Slovenia contact point
Solomon Islands contact point not notified
South Africa contact point not notified
Spain contact point
Sri Lanka contact point
Suriname contact point
Swaziland contact point
Sweden contact point
Switzerland contact point
Chinese Taipei contact point
Tajikistan contact point not notified
Tanzania contact point not notified
Thailand contact point
The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia contact point
Togo contact point
Tonga contact point
Trinidad and Tobago contact point
Tunisia contact point
Turkey contact point
Uganda contact point
Ukraine contact point
United Arab Emirates contact point
United Kingdom contact point
United States of America contact point
Uruguay contact point
Vanuatu contact point not notified
Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of contact point
Viet Nam contact point
Yemen contact point not notified
Zambia contact point


contact point