Women and trade

Workshop on Gender Based Analysis and Trade

Geneva, WTO Headquarters - Room W

Welcome Break


Opening Remarks

Moderator: Stephen de Boer Permanent Representative of Canada to the World Trade Organization


  1. Roberto Azevêdo (video)
    Director General, World Trade Organization
  2. Arancha González
    Executive Director, International Trade Centre


Panel 1: What we know about trade and gender

Moderator: Vanessa Erogbogbo Head, Women and Trade Programme, International Trade Centre


  1. Simonetta Zarrilli
    Chief, Trade, Gender and Development Programme Division on International Trade in Goods and Services, and Commodities UNCTAD
  2. Annette Ssemuwemba,
    Deputy Executive Director Enhanced Integrated Framework
  3. Amelie Kvarnström
    National Board of Trade Sweden
  4. Sheba Tejani
    Assistant Professor of International Affairs New School


Panel 2: Gender-Based Analysis and Trade

Moderator: Deborah Vorhies Managing Director, International Centre for Trade and Sustainable Development


  1. Marie-France Paquet
    Chief Economist, Global Affairs Canada
    Presentation English - Presentation French
  2. Nuno Sousa
    Economist, Chief Economist and Trade Analysis Unit, DG Trade
    European Commission
    With – Liva Andersone, Gender focal point, Unit of Trade and Sustainable Development, Generalised System of Preferences, DG Trade, European Commission
  3. David Luke
    Coordinator, African Trade Policy Centre
    UN Economic Commission for Africa


Panel 3: Areas for Future Work/Data Collection

Moderator: David Usher Director General, Trade Negotiations Global Affairs Canada


  1. Roberta Piermartini
    Chief of Section, Economic Research and Statistics Division, WTO
  2. Julia Nielson
    Head, Development Division, OECD
  3. Nicole Verdugo
    Head, Gender Department, Direcon, Chile
  4. Kilara Suit, Macroeconomics
    Trade and Investment Global Practice, World Bank Group


Panel 4: Wrap up and next steps

Moderator: Stephen de Boer Permanent Representative of Canada to the World Trade Organization


  1. Marc Vanheukelen
    Permanent Representative of the European Union to the World Trade Organization
  2. Ambassador Dr. Syed Tauqir Shah
    Permanent Representative of Pakistan to the WTO
  3. Ambassador Yvette Stevens
    Permanent Representative of Sierra Leone to the WTO
  4. Isabelle Durant
    Deputy Secretary General, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development


Reception - Atrium
Centre William Rappard



Problems viewing this page? If so, please contact [email protected] giving details of the operating system and web browser you are using.