Information about the organization


Eleventh WTO Ministerial Conference

WTO members have agreed that the organization’s Eleventh Ministerial Conference (MC11) will take place from 11 to 14 December 2017 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The dates were endorsed at a 7 December meeting of the WTO’s General Council.

back to top


Host country

Argentina will be the first South American country to host the biennial event. WTO members accepted Argentina’s offer to host MC11 at a General Council meeting on 3 October.


Ministerial conferences

The Ministerial Conference, which is attended by trade ministers and other senior officials from the organization’s 164 members, is the highest decision-making body of the WTO. Under the Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the WTO, the Ministerial Conference is to meet at least once every two years. 

The last Ministerial Conference took place in Nairobi, Kenya, in December 2015.


Previous conferences

> Nairobi, 15-19 December 2015
> Bali, 3-6 December 2013
> Geneva, 15-17 December 2011
> Geneva, 30 November - 2 December 2009
> Hong Kong, 13-18 December 2005
> Cancún, 10-14 September 2003
> Doha, 9-13 November 2001
> Seattle, November 30 – December 3, 1999
> Geneva, 18-20 May 1998
> Singapore, 9-13 December 1996



Information on accreditation and other arrangements for MC11 will be made available on the WTO website in due course.