Tenth WTO Ministerial Conference

The WTO's 10th Ministerial Conference was held in Nairobi, Kenya, from 15 to 19 December 2015. It culminated in the adoption of the "Nairobi Package", a series of six Ministerial Decisions on agriculture, cotton and issues related to least-developed countries (LDCs). The Conference was chaired by Kenya's Cabinet Secretary for Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Amina Mohamed.

See also:


back to top


back to top

Nairobi Package

The Nairobi Ministerial Declaration and the ministerial decisions that were adopted on 19 December 2015.

back to top

How the Conference was organized

The Conference was opened on 15 December by Kenya's President, Uhuru Kenyatta. During the opening session, the Conference was also addressed by the Chair of the Conference Amina Mohamed, Director-General Roberto Azevŕdo and the Chair of the General Council, Fernando de Mateo.

The Vice-Chairs of the Conference were Mr Alexander Mora (Costa Rica), Mr Carlo Calenda (Italy) and Mr Gregory L. Domingo (Philippines).

The plenary sessions began on 16 December. These provided an opportunity for ministers to make prepared statements. A special ceremony was held on 16 December for the WTO accession of Liberia and on 17 December for the accession of Afghanistan.

At the closing session on 19 December, ministers adopted the Nairobi Package, a series of six Ministerial Decisions on agriculture, cotton and issues related to LDCs. A Ministerial Declaration outlining the Package and the future work of the WTO was also adopted.

back to top


back to top
back to top

Background Briefing Notes

back to top

Practical information for attendees

  • Logistics/Information notes